M.A.HART LAWRENCE A BRIVATI CUP FINAL

Thursday 31st March 2016

at Hurn Bridge

BOURNEMOUTH ELECTRIC A

3

Tom Flynn 48 mins, 63 mins, Paul Conroy 115 mins (pen)

JP MORGAN

3 aet

Deon Brophy 12 mins, 94 mins, Fergal McCloskey 15 mins.

JP Morgan won 5-4 on penalties

Hayward Sunday Division Four champions JP Morgan brought the curtain down on a magnificent season when they lifted the M.A. Hart Lawrence A Brivati Cup at Hurn Bridge after an epic battle with unbeaten Division Five title favourites Bournemouth Electric A.

JP Morgan opened the scoring in the 12th minute when **Deon Brophy** met Gerard O'Mullen's long free kick into the penalty area with a looping header which went over Electric 'keeper Tamaz Szooboczki and into the back of the net.

Electric had still not recovered when JP Morgan doubled their lead three minutes later, Will Scudder's low cross from the left being steered home by **Fergal McCloskey**.

Electric pulled one back three minutes into the second half when they played the ball forward to Liam McGlynn who headed the ball on perfectly for **Tom Flynn** to run through and steer it past Nigel Dunn.

Brophy was twice thwarted by Szoboczki and when the Electric 'keeper was in danger of being beaten following a 58th minute corner kick, Shane Hiscox was perfectly placed to clear off the line.

Electric were awarded a penalty in the 63rd minute for a foul on Luke McCoy who got up to take the spot kick himself. Goalkeeper Nigel Dunn produced a brilliant save, turning the low shot round the post.

JP Morgan's reprieve was only temporary though as a defensive slip let **Tom Flynn** through on the left and the front man slotted the ball clinically past Dunn to put Electric on terms.

JP Morgan went ahead again four minutes into extra time when **Deon Brophy** chipped the 'keeper at the edge of the penalty area and the ball rolled agonisingly slowly into the goal with two defenders in hot pursuit.

Paul Conroy headed a free kick past Dunn with ten minutes of extra time remaining but the goal was disallowed for offside. Electric were not to be denied though and they were awarded their second penalty of the game when Liam McGlynn powered his way through the middle before going down in the box.

Paul Conroy levelled the scores with a superbly taken spot kick into the corner of the net.

The game had to be decided on penalties and, in a tense shoot out with both teams converting four out of their first five spot kicks, Nigel Dunn dived to save Electric's sixth kick superbly and James Hardiman held his nerve to give JP Morgan the verdict 5-4.

JP Morgan front man Deon Brophy was chosen for the **Man of the match** award by Hayward League President Mike Fowler.

Bournemouth Electric A :- Tamas Szoboczki, Luke Brown, Sean McCoy, Simon Davies (James Berner 26 mins), Gary Cutler, Paul Conroy, Luke McCoy, Tom Flynn (Ben Clark 102 mins), Shane Hiscox (Kyran Bichard 72 mins), Andy Harman, Liam McGlynn.

JP Morgan: _ Nigel Dunn, Gerard O'Mullan, Ben Duburguet-Gard, Freddie Porter (Glebs Kiselovs 40 mins), James Hardiman, Josh Hartley (Ryan Roberts 65 mins), Fergal McCloskey (Greg Jones 57 mins), Deon Brophy, Matt Lewis, Will Scudder, Craig Whittaker.